Reasearch project

The issue of human trafficking is complex and often clandestine. For this reason, the Beacon of the Freed and the Cégep de Saint-Jérôme worked together to carry out a two-phase research project on human trafficking.

Phase 1            Phase 2

Rapport de recherche - Couverture.PNG
Research report on human trafficking in the Laurentians by the Beacon of the Freed and the Cégep de Saint-Jérôme
Partnership
Logo combiné_Phare_Cégep-St-Jerome.png
Benefits

Participation in this research will expand current knowledge and improve services for victims and survivors of trafficking. It will also allow participants to express themselves on their life experience. Overall, this project will allow to initiate the development of intervention, prevention, awareness and education programs adapted to the specific realities of this clientele. 

To consult the documents for phase 1
 
Phase 1: Human trafficking in the Laurentians

Objectives of phase 1:

The general objective is to document the reality of human trafficking in the greater Laurentians region from the point of view of the interviewees working in organizations likely to be in contact with the victims of trafficking.

This phase was used to:

  • Determine the level of knowledge of the environments;

  • Establish the profile of victims;

  • Determine the needs of the victims from the point of view of the workers;

  • Make an inventory of the services offered and missing;

  • Identify possible solutions to better meet the needs of workers and victims

Research highlights 

Workers from organisations likely to be in contact with victims identified 315 victims of human trafficking in all Laurentian territories and the presence of 80 other victims was suspected. (Page 14 of the research report)

The victims identified are mainly women (64.8%) or underage girls (30.8%) living in a situation of sexual exploitation (89.8%). They are mainly Canadian citizens (91.8%) who live in the region, and 62.2% of them have been exploited in the territory. (Page 16 of the research report)

Nearly 42% of respondents consider their knowledge of trafficking to be low or very low, and nearly half of the respondents have not received any training in this regard. (Page 19 of the research report) 

 
Phase 2: still in progress

Objectives of phase 2:  

The main objective of this project is to explore the realities of victims or survivors of trafficking in order to better understand the influence of the different systems that surround them and to offer them more targeted support.

This phase will be used to:

  • Better understand the experience of victims or survivors of exploitation;

  • Explore available and missing support services;

  • Better understand the elements related to the exploitation situation and the exit process;

  • Identify recommendations for improving support for victims/survivors.

This research received a grant from the Research and Transfer Assistance Program - Social Innovation Part (RTAP-SI) of the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Higher Education of Quebec and financial support from the Cégep of Saint-Jérôme. The Beacon of the Freed received financial assistance under the Regional Outreach Support Fund from the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Terminology related to the notion of exploitation used in the research

Human trafficking

Means « the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harboring or receipt of people, by means of the threat or use of force or other forms of coercion, of abduction, of fraud, of deception, of the abuse of power or of a position of vulnerability or of the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person, for the purpose of exploitation. » (United Nations, 2000). 

Sexual

exploitation 

“Sexual exploitation generally involves a situation, context or relationship where an individual takes advantage of a person's state of vulnerability or dependence, or the existence of unequal power relations, with the aim of using that person's body for sexual purposes, for the sake of benefit.” (Secretariat for the Status of Women, 2016).

Exploitation for work purposes or labor trafficking

Refers to any work or service, in the public or private sector, required of an individual under the threat of direct or indirect repercussions such as physical violence, psychological threats or non-payment of wages. Constraints can also consist of the loss of rights or privileges such as promotions, transfers or even access to a new job (ILO, 2016).

Domestic

servitude

"The exploited person is in the grip of the exploiting household, their freedoms are reduced and their living conditions are often contrary to human dignity.” (ILO, n.d.). This is akin to exploitation for the purpose of work, but has the particularity of being carried out in a home.

Forced begging

Refers to the obligation for a person to practice begging under the coercion of an exploiter who takes advantage of it. Begging can take many forms, such as asking a foreigner for money on the pretext of being poor or for health reasons, offering artistic performances or collecting recyclable materials (European Commission, 2012; National Agency against Human Trafficking, 2009).

Recherche :
La traite de personnes dans les Laurentides

La problématique de la traite de personnes est complexe et souvent clandestine. C’est pour cette raison que le Phare des AffranchiEs et le Cégep de Saint-Jérôme ont travaillé en collaboration pour réaliser une recherche, en deux phases, sur la traite de personnes.

Phase 1           Phase 2

 
Phase 2 : en cours

Objectifs de la phase 2 :  

L’objectif principal de ce projet est d’explorer les réalités des personnes victimes ou survivantes de traite afin de mieux comprendre l’influence des différents systèmes qui les entourent et de leur offrir un accompagnement plus ciblé. 

Cette phase servira à : 

  • Mieux comprendre l’expérience des victimes ou des survivant(e)s d’exploitation; 

  • Explorer les services d’aide offerts et manquants; 

  • Mieux comprendre les éléments liés à la situation d’exploitation et au processus de sortie; 

  • Identifier des pistes de recommandations pour améliorer l’aide aux personnes victimes ou survivant(e)s.

Avantages et retombées

La participation à cette recherche permettra d’élargir les connaissances actuelles et de bonifier les services offerts aux victimes et personnes survivantes de la traite. Cela permettra également aux personnes participantes de s’exprimer sur leur expérience de vie. Globalement, ce projet permettra d’amorcer le développement de programmes d’intervention, de prévention, de sensibilisation et d’éducation adaptés aux réalités spécifiques de cette clientèle. 

Partenariat
Logo combiné_Phare_Cégep-St-Jerome.png
 
Phase 1 : La traite de personnes dans les Laurentides

Objectifs de la phase 1:

L'objectif général est de documenter la réalité de la traite de personnes dans la grande région des Laurentides à partir du point de vue des personnes interrogées travaillant au sein d’organisations susceptibles d’être en contact avec les victimes de traite.

Cette phase a servi à :

  • Déterminer le niveau de connaissance des milieux; 

  • Établir le profil des victimes; 

  • Déterminer les besoins des victimes d’un point de vue des intervenants; 

  • Faire l'inventaire des services offerts et manquants;

  • Cibler des pistes de solution pour mieux répondre aux besoins des intervenants et des victimes.

Faits saillants de la recherche

Les travailleuses et travailleurs d’organisations susceptibles d’être en contact avec des victimes ont recensé 315 victimes de traite de personnes dans l'ensemble des territoires des Laurentides et la présence de 80 autres victimes a été suspectée. (Page 14 du rapport de recherche)  

Les victimes identifiées sont principalement des femmes (64,8 %) ou des filles mineures (30,8 %) vivant une situation d’exploitation sexuelle (89,8 %). Elles sont essentiellement des citoyennes canadiennes (91,8 %) qui habitent la région, et 62,2 % d’entre elles ont été exploitées sur le territoire. (Page 16 du rapport de recherche)  

Près de 42 % des personnes interrogées considèrent avoir un niveau de connaissance faible ou très faible en matière de traite et près de la moitié des personnes répondantes n’ont reçu aucune heure de formation à cet égard. (Page 19 du rapport de recherche)  

Pour consulter les documents de la phase 1
Rapport de recherche sur la traite de personnes dans les Laurentides par le Phare des AffranchiEs et le Cégep de Saint-Jérôme

Le Phare des AffranchiEs a reçu une aide financière dans le cadre du Fonds d’appui au rayonnement des régions du ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation. Cette recherche a également bénéficié d’une subvention du Programme d’aide à la recherche et au transfert -volet Innovation sociale (PART-IS) du ministère de l’Éducation et du ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur du Québec et du soutien financier du Cégep de Saint-Jérôme.

Terminologie liée à la notion d’exploitation pour la recherche 

Traite de personnes

Désigne « le recrutement, le transport, le transfert, l’hébergement ou l’accueil de personnes, par la menace de recours ou le recours à la force ou à d’autres formes de contrainte, par enlèvement, fraude, tromperie, abus d’autorité ou d’une situation de vulnérabilité […] d’une personne ayant autorité sur une autre aux fins d’exploitation. » (Nations Unies, 2000).

Exploitation sexuelle 

« L’exploitation sexuelle implique généralement une situation, un contexte ou une relation où un individu profite de l’état de vulnérabilité ou de dépendance d’une personne, ou de l’existence d’une inégalité des rapports de force, dans le but d’utiliser le corps de cette personne à des fins d’ordre sexuel, en vue d’en tirer un avantage. »  (Secrétariat à la condition féminine, 2016). 

Exploitation à des fins de travail

Désigne tout travail ou service, dans le secteur public ou privé, exigé d'un individu sous la menace d'une répercussion directe ou indirecte comme la violence physique, les menaces psychologiques ou le non-paiement du salaire. Les contraintes peuvent également consister en la perte de droits ou de privilèges comme les promotions, les mutations ou encore l’accès à un nouvel emploi (OIT, 2016). 

Servitude domestique

« La personne exploitée est sous l’emprise du foyer qui l’exploite, ses libertés sont réduites et ses conditions de vie sont bien souvent contraires à la dignité humaine. » (OIT, s.d.). Celle-ci s’apparente à l’exploitation à des fins de travail, mais a pour particularité d’être exercée dans un foyer. 

Mendicité forcée

Désigne l’obligation pour une personne de pratiquer la mendicité sous la contrainte d’un exploiteur qui en tire profit. La mendicité peut prendre plusieurs formes, comme demander de l’argent à un étranger prétextant être pauvre ou pour des raisons de santé, offrir des performances artistiques ou récupérer des matériaux recyclables (European Commission, 2012; National Agency against Trafficking in persons, 2009).